by Sonia Tetlow

Released 2017
Released 2017
An electric, pulsing, and fresh soundscape, Sonia Tetlow's new album is an uncompromising and uplifting rock 'n roll nod to the possibility of "Now."
Sonia Tetlow is musician who studies the craft of song, a songwriter who performs with abandon, giving herself freely to the moment of live music making. While Tetlow’s music career has spanned from “punker snarls to banjo pickin' reflection,” she has always been a rock and roller at heart. It’s been three years since Tetlow has released a solo record (A Place for Everyone, November 2014), and roughly one year since she announced her departure from alterna-grass band Roxie Watson. Her new record, “Now,” signals a new era for Tetlow.

Though the breadth of her musical journey shines through, there is no room for compromise--this is Tetlow at her purest, in songwriting and soundscape. “I’ve never been afraid to put it all out there in song,” she comments. Heavy topics, such as the passing of Tetlow’s father earlier this year, clearly inform a number of the songs on the record; yet many, including “Now,” ring determined, hopeful, uplifting. “Essentially [”Now”] is a song that’s about trying to get out of my own way,” she explains. “It’s the last song that I wrote for the album and it made sense that it would sort of culminate in that...a lot of these songs are about reconciling with the past and trying to live in the moment and be at peace with it.”

Album credits:

Josh Birmingham – drums, percussion, harmony vocals
Luke Campolieta – additional guitars
Matt Henderson – Rhodes keyboard, Moog synth
Jimmy “Bones” McAlpin – electric guitar
Amy Ray – harmony vocals
Seersha – harmony vocals
Sonia Tetlow – acoustic guitar, vocals
Ben Williams – bass, harmony vocals

Amy Ray appears courtesy of Indigo Girls on “Hard Fought Year” and “Tripline”

Album design by Amy Mann
Produced by Ben Williams
Engineered by Luke Campolieta
Recorded at The Zone (Norcross, Georgia)
All songs by Sonia Tetlow. ©2017

Sign up for the email list